Joining General Referral in New JErsey

New Jersey real estate referral agents are issued a license type called: “Salesperson (Referral)”. While the state limits limits some activities of this license type, NJ referral agents at GR are entitled to earn commission on the referral of clients to full service agents at a split determined by the plan they select.

In addition, New Jersey has no continuing education requirements for referral agents.

Below, you can learn more about the state fees charged in New Jersey for license transfers and license renewals. Match your current status with the column on the left to find your applicable fees.


NJ Real Estate License – State Transfer Requirements


Currently Licensed Under Another Broker

State Fees
$25 license transfer
$50 license type change (not required for if already licensed as a Referral Agent)

$75 Total State Fees

State fees are added to your first year membership cost and paid to the state by General Referral, on your behalf.

Steps

  1. Submit a letter of resignation to your current broker. GR cannot add your license until this is complete.

  2. Complete the GR sign up form & purchase your annual membership.


Currently Inactive License

State Fees for Salesperson or Referral Agent license

  • License “Reinstate by” date is two years or more from today
    $25 license transfer
    $50 license type change (for Salesperson only)
    $75 Total State Fees

  • License “Reinstate by” date is less than two years from today
    $150 reactivation fee
    $150 Total State Fees

State Fees for Broker / Broker-Salesperson license

  • License “Reinstate by” date is two years or more from today
    $25 license transfer
    $50 license type change (required for changing your license to a referral agent)
    $75 Total State Fees

  • License “Reinstate by” date is less than two years from today
    $250 reactivation fee
    $250 Total State Fees


State fees are added to your first year membership cost and paid to the state by General Referral, on your behalf.

Steps

  1. Complete the GR sign up form (including the purchase of your annual membership).

  2. If your “Reinstate by” date is less than two year from today, complete the state’s online questionnaire.

  3. [Does not apply to General Referral] For licensees not joining a real estate referral company, complete any outstanding CE requirements before your license can be reinstated.

N.B. If a license is not reinstated by the “Reinstate by”, the state will no longer recognize your license status and you must retake all education and test as a newly licensed agent.


Newly Licensed

State Fees
$160 initial licensing fee

State fees are added to your first year membership cost and passed through to the state by General Referral.

Steps

  1. Complete the GR sign up form & purchase your annual membership.

  2. Submit your signed fingerprint receipt and original test pass notice to General Referral. Originals are required by the State of New Jersey. Documents should be sent to the General Referral Mailing Address.


NJ Real Estate License – State Renewals Requirements


State Renewal Fees

State License Renewal Fees
$100 Salesperson / Referral License renewal fee
$200 Broker Associate License renewal fee

All New Jersey real estate licensees wishing to maintain an active real estate license must pay a renewal fee to the state every two years, by June 30th of each odd numbered year, (e.g. June 30, 2019). This fee is paid to the State of New Jersey by the licensees broker of record (e.g. General Referral). The broker of record collects these fees from the licensee. General Referral will send you an invoice in advance of the scheduled billing date. This fee will then be charged to your payment method on file.


State Renewal Requirements

Prior to renewing your real estate license, the State of New Jersey mandates the following:


NJ Additional Information


 

Ready to Choose a Plan?

Ready to Sign-up?